Showing posts with label Old Inns Essex County. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Old Inns Essex County. Show all posts

Saturday, December 7, 2013

Lord Timothy Dexter House turn to Caldwell's Inn




"Lord" Timothy Dexter See Article of Newburyport met his maker in 1806, but his memory and his dwelling house was kept alive so the people of the Port and tourists could still make merry sport and good cheer with all the chief characters of the land. Sarah Emery states that Dexter's home was"his full glory" in its heyday: "a noted place for pleasure parties. A delightful spot in summer, and a noted rendezvous for sleighing parties in winter, when a supper and dance were enjoyed."
The party house would become known known as Caldwell Inn & Tavern. From History of Newburyport: "William Caldwell, an innkeeper who occupied the Dexter house on High street for several years."
This advertisement from The Newburyport Herald 


William Caldwell apparently had some trouble in his new hot spot with a fellow guest who swindled his way through the Port.  From the Newburyport Herald Friday May 24, 1811



From Newburyport Herald Febuary 23 1830





William Swain
son of  Levi Swain and Phebe Pilsbury
This is history of owners recorded in Old Newburyport Houses by W. B. Clarke Co. 1912 Caldwell is not listed.
Jonathan Jackson                       until 1795                                                   
Thomas Thomas and heirs         1795-1798
Timothy Dexter and heirs           1798-1852
Elbridge G. Kelley                     1852-1874
Emily A. (Mrs. George H.) Corliss   1874-1897
Mary B. (Mrs. Alexander) Johnson and heirs   1897-1902
Nathaniel G. Pierce                    1902-1909
George P. Sargent                      1909
    Mrs. Katherine Tingley               1909

Madame Tingley, former owner was quite an eccentric herself. She was a member of The Universal Brotherhood and Theosophical Society and formed her own league in October 1915.


She grew up in Newburyport and her intentions for her childhood home was the buzz around the port. Here is an ad in The Boston Journal December 19, 1907


Popular Post