Showing posts with label Davis. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Davis. Show all posts

Monday, August 4, 2014

First Fire Society Newburyport Articles 1746

Firemen Of Old Saturday, July 6, 1872 Colombian Register (New Haven, CT)  Page: 3



Photos From History of Newburyport, Mass 1764-1905, Volume 2 By John James Currier
Some history on Fire Societies
FIRE SOCIETIES AND FIRE ENGINES.
Dr. John Spraguc, who came to Newbury previous to 1738, was a member of one of the societies organized for the purpose of preventing, if possible, the destruction of property by fire. A leather bucket, formerly in his possession, bearing his name and the date of 1746, is shown in the half-tone print on this page. The bucket is now in the possession of Miss Jane R. Wood of Newburyport. Another bucket, an exact duplicate, is in the possession of Mrs. Margaret (Andrews) Allen of Madison, Wisconsin.
The Dernier Resort Fire Society, consisting of thirty members, was organized as early as 1760. Ralph Cross, Caleb Cross, Lemuel Collin, Nathaniel Knapp, Isaac Knapp, John Mycall, Timothy Palmer, Leonard Smith, Abraham Williams, Robert Williams and others were members of the society. According to the rules and regulations adopted at that date, and afterwards revised and printed, each member was required to keep at his residence two leather buckets and a knapsack containing two canvas bags ready for use at all times. Two of these leather buckets, formerly the property of Ralph Cross, are now in the possession of the Newburyport Marine Society.
In December, 1775, the Marine Fire Society was organized. One of the articles of association adopted provided that no person shall be elected a member of the society
"unless he be a member of the Marine Society of Newburyport."
The second article reads as follows :—
Each of us will also keep in good order, hanging up in some convenient place in our respective dwellings, two leather buckets, in which shall be two bags, each bag measuring one yard and a half in length, and three-quarters of a yard in breadth, being hemmed at the mouths, and having strong strings to draw them close; the buckets and bags shall be marked with the first letter of the owner's Christian name and with his surname at length, under a penalty of three shillings for each deficiency.'
Moses Brown, Jonathan Parsons, Peter LeBreton, William Farris, John O'Brien, Benjamin Rogers, Henry Lunt,Nicholas Johnson, Charles Hodge, David Coats, William Coombs, Joseph Newman, Michael Hodge, William P. Johnson, Edward Wigglesworth, Ebenezer Stocker, William Nichols and others were members of this society. It was not dissolved until the close of the year 1833, and perhaps later. Two leather buckets, formerly the property of William Nichols, captain and part-owner of the privateer Independence in the Revolutionary war, are now in the possession of his grandson, George E. Hale of Newburyport. A photograph of these buckets, taken for the illustration of this sketch, is reproduced in the half-tone print on this page.
The Union Fire Society was organized February 28, 1783. Benjamin Frothingham, Edward Toppan, William Cross, Daniel Balch, jr., Abraham Jackson, Daniel Coffin, Richard Pike and other well-known citizens of Newburyport were members of this association. Meetings were held usually at Wolfe Tavern. The half-tone print on the next page is reproduced from an engraving in the possession of the Essex Institute, Salem, Mass.
The Federal Fire Society was organized in 1791. At that date the prominent members of the society were James Hodge, Nathaniel Knap, jr., Isaac Knap, jr., Edward Sweat, jr., Abraham Perkins, William Wyer, jr., David Wood, Joseph Swasey, jr., and John Greenough.

Sources:
See Newburyport Town Records @ PEM
Articles and regulations of the Relief Fire Society, in Newburyport : formed the twenty-first of March, 1775.

Saturday, May 10, 2014

Cutting Family Line of Boston

Research started with Frederick L. Cutting born in Boston, Ma August 14, 1842. He was the son of Henry Cutting and Eunice Lord. Henry Cutting married first, Harriet Ardelia Fenno of Chelsea, MA. January 27, 1829.
Henry and Harriet had a daughter named Harriet A F Cutting Barker who died November 14 1865 in Sommerville.She was 31.
Henry's wife Harriet passed away on June 6, 1836  (See Records below)  Family information on Fenno line according to "Genealogical and Personal Memoirs of the Families of Boston and Eastern Massachusetts Volume 4"  Harriet's father Deacon John Fenno, son of William Fenno and Sarah Endicott, was born in Canton, January 1, 1766, died in Boston, July 26, 1835. He kept a grocery store on Hanover street, Boston, and was a deacon of the New North Church, in the time of Rev. Francis Parkman. He was the first of the Fenno family to settle in Chelsea, where he bought a large tract of land. He married, 1793, Olive Pratt, born April 10, 1770, died in Chelsea, November 24, 1856, daughter of Nehemiah Pratt and Ruth Torrey, of South Weymouth, Massachusetts. Their wedding was the first in East Boston. 

Harriet's brother Joseph Fenno erected a building in Chelsea, that part now Revere, corner of Beach street and Broadway, and has been since known as Fenno's Corner. There he conducted a mercantile business to the time of his death; was continued by his son, Joseph Henry Fenno, and by his son, Warren Fenno, and on the death of the latter, in 1905, the business was closed to settle the estate.

William Fenno an enterprising merchant of Revere, was born in North Chelsea, December 2, 1854. His father, Joseph H. Fenno, was born in Boston, June 21, 1823; and his mother, whose maiden name was Harriet E. Tewksbury, was born January 25, 1829. She was a daughter of John Tewksbury and Sarah Williams and grand-daughter of Lydia Sprague, whose father, Captain Samuel Sprague, when over sixty-two years of age, responded to the Lexington alarm and organized a company which was mustered into the Continental army. He died in Chelsea in 1783
The Fenno's original American ancestor on the paternal side was John Fenno, a farmer, who emigrated from England (from Lancashire, it is thought), and settled in Milton, Mass., in 1660. He served in King Philip's War. From him the line of descent is traced through John,2 John,3 William,4 John,5 Joseph,6 and Joseph H.,7 to Warren,8. Sarah Endicott was born on August 10, 1741, daughter of Captain James Endicott and Esther Clapp Endicott. James Endicott son of Gilbert Endicott (brother of John Endicott)



The Fenno House at Old Sturbridge Village was moved there in 1950 from its original site in the town of Canton, where it stood ouside the center village. This property was acquired by John Fenno in 1694 and either he or his son, also named John, is thought to have built the house in 1704. Photo courtesy of Historic Buildings of Massachusetts.

              Another landmark John A Fenno House Newton 

Below are two entries from Boston Papers on Harriet's death:


Henry Cutting married second wife Eunice Lord in the town of Ipswich, Massachusetts on December 30, 1792 also it is recorded in Malden Vital Records: Henry of Boston and Eunice Lord, Sept. 12, 1839. Also, next to Henry is the marriage of George W. Cutting of Weston, and Elisabeth Lord, Jan. 3, 1829. Eunice was daughter of Daniel Lord. 
Daniel Lord, son of  Aaron Lord and Hannah Lord (daughter of James Lord and Mary Fuller) married Sarah Holland (See More Lord Family Records Below) 
Children of Henry and Eunice
Henry Cutting died April 25, 1901
Francis Stanton Cutting was born on October 30 1868 in Chelsea, MA. He married Florence Davis, daughter of  Ella Florence Slade and Henry Hall Davis 
Francis and Florence had two sons Stanton  Davis Cutting and Richard F Cutting (See Below)

Ella F Slade (Davis) was was born on June 19, 1846 in Chelsea, Suffolk County, Massachusetts. She was the daughter of Levi Slade and Elizabeth Snow. She married Henry Hall Davis on January 7, 1869. She died on November 24, 1912 in Chelsea, Suffolk County, Massachusetts, at age 66. She was buried in Woodlawn Cemetery, Everett, Middlesex County, Massachusetts, Tombstone reads 'Ella A. Slade.'
Levi Slade was the son of Henry Slade and Sally Danforth
 

Levi Slade Birth 17 April 1822 in Chelsea, Massachusetts Death January 9, 1884 in Chelsea, Ma Co-founder of D.& L. Slade Spice Company. Owner and Treasurer between 1864 and 1884
From  Thursday, February 6, 1908 Paper: Boston Herald (Boston, MA) Page: 8


Mason Lodge Membership Card Francis S Cutting


This is an interesting find and from the census I gathered on all the Cutting families the help was included as members of their household This is from Boston Herald December 29 1931



Stanton Davis Cutting born February 14, 1896 in Chelsea MA. He was an athlete Draft Card Stanton Cutting


Mason Lodge Membership


Sunday, January 9, 1972 Paper: Boston Herald (Boston, MA) Page: 45


Friday, January 24, 1913 Paper: Boston Herald (Boston, MA) Page: 13






Mason Membership Card


MEMORIAL OF FREDERICK L. CUTTING as published in The weekly Underwriter Volume 79

The committee on the preparation of a memorial of the late Insurance Commissioner Cutting, of Massachusetts, presented the following, which was unanimously adopted:

We, the insurance commissioners of the United States in convention assembled, deem it fitting to adopt this memorial of Frederick Lord Cutting, our late associate in the labors of many years, as an expression of our appreciation and respect.

Frederick Lord Cutting was born to a life of service. While but a youth he enlisted at the call of President Lincoln, and bore his part with honor until the close of the war. He was frequently assigned for special duty, and did it well. His discharge from the army did not send back to the North a man of demoralized character, but one fit to stand as a man among men, one as eager to enter upon the calm pursuits of peace as he had been to do his duty in the rough turmoil of war. His first call upon arriving home was to serve in the Adjutant's General's department of bis home State, which gave him congenial employment.

But what may be called his life work was in the Massachusetts Insurance Department, to which he was soon transferred, and where he rose from clerk to Insurance Commissioner, occupying the latter position for ten years of his thirty-five years in that department of labor. His resignation took effect November 30 and his death occurred on the seventh day of the new year following.

For many years before he became commissioner he attended the meeting of this convention, and served as its secretary as long as he would consent to hold the office.

He. as deputy commissioner and then as commissioner, worked on important committees. He had no special gift for performing what may be called the ornamental functions of the convention, but in doing the sturdy homely duties which pertained thereto he was ever at the front. He had opinions which he expressed in a positive way. His honesty was rock ribbed, he was inclined to distrust compromises, and made his way rather by his force of character than by dodging to the right and left to avoid collision. He was never a seeker for public approbation, or for official preferment. It was against his will that be accepted the presidency of this convention, and in fact it required much urging to induce him to take his original appointment as Insurance Commissioner. He formed many close friendships among his fellow members of this convention, and always expressed his delight when a good official was given the reward of his faithfulness by a reappointment.

On the private and personal side he was kind, sympathetic and tender hearted, yet he had an inflexible will which kept him true to his high ideals in respect to virtue, temperance, devotion to his family and loyalty to his convictions.

His service to the business of insurance it is difficult to measure, but we do know that be stood for sound companies, honest management, full publicity and a supervision in fact as well as in name. The public is better off because Frederick L. Cutting lived, and the insurance commissioners have a worthy example to emulate.

While we mourn his loss we rejoice that we have had the benefit of his labors, known the inspiration of his presence, and felt the satisfaction of being able to point to him as "one of us." It is such men and what they stand for that gives strength and character to an organization like this, and afford a prophecy of the coming of the Kingdom of Righteousness on earth.

A resolution was adopted directing the secretary to send a copy of this memorial to the family of Mr. Cutting and to spread it on the minutes of the convention.

On Boston Record  Boston, Mass., January 21, 1908

Truly a man great in Israel was gathered to his fathers when the life of Frederick Lord Cutting was snuffed out as a candle. It seems but yesterday that this gentle autocrat sat expounding the law in the commissioner's chair. The vigor of his language was tempered by his kindly eye, and those who knew him best saw in him a man white to his heart's core, incapable of meanness, sternly just and ruggedly upright in every thought and action. He was the New England conscience personified, and jealous he was of the fair name of his beloved department. He had the weakness of his virtues— stubborn to a degree, so exacting that he leaned backward. His epitaph might well be written, "Here lies an honest man," for honest he was In thought and in action throughout his simple, upright and wholesome life.

Death Certificate of Frederick Cutting 




From Thirtieth Annual Report of the Insurance Commissioner of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 1885 Part 1: Fire & Marine Insurance

 


From Frederick is Cutting Dies in Wellesley Veteran of Civil War and until November Chief Insurance Date: Thursday, January 9, 1908 Paper: Boston Journal (Boston, MA) Issue: 24285 Page: 2



From Wednesday, February 5, 1908 Paper: Boston Herald (Boston, MA) Page: 12


MORE ON LORD FAMILY OF IPSWICH MA:

Aaron10 Lord (Nathaniel Jr9, Nathaniel8, Robert Sr7, Robert6, Anthony5, John4, Tomas3, Hari2, William1) was born May 28, 1732 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).), and died March 24, 1811 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).). He married Hannah Lord July 01, 1754 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).), daughter of James Lord and Mary Fuller. She was born September 08, 1734 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).), and died June 29, 1812 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).
Aaron Lord: Tailor Will: 9 Dec., 1809 Will proved: 21 Apr., 1811
Probate Record 380:347 -- Darling Papers page 34b

Daniel11 Lord (Aaron10, Nathaniel Jr9, Nathaniel8, Robert Sr7, Robert6, Anthony5, John4, Tomas3, Hari2, William1) was born June 25, 1766 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 241.), and died March 04, 1816 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 616.). He married Sarah Hollond December 30, 1792 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 279.), daughter of John Hollond and s.Mary Perkins She was born July 29, 1769 (Source: E.E. Fewkes, Darling Papers Volume 131, 53a.), and died October 02, 1846 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 621.).  Daniel Lord: Died of jaundice--Vital Records of Ipswich, page 616
Daniel Lord and Sarah Holland parents of Eunice Lord, b. May 18, 1811, Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 243.).

Mary Perkins born December 9 1636 daughter of  Mathew Perkins and Esther Burham.  Ipswich Town Records


Daniel Lord and Sarah Holland
Burial: Highland Cemetery Ipswich Essex County Massachusetts, USA Created by: John Glassford Record added: Dec 05, 2011 Find A Grave Memorial# 81584921

 

Captain John Holland & Mary Perkins Weskeag Village Cemetery
South Thomaston Knox County Maine, USA Created by: Andrew
Record added: Aug 04, 2010 Find A Grave Memorial# 55863151

Henry Slade Birth Aug. 18, 1791 in Chelsea, Ma Death Nov. 26,1868 in Chelsea, Ma

More on Genealogy From  

George Warren Cutting, son of Ephraim (b. East Sudbury, 1774; m. 1802; d. 1866) and Theoda Pratt Cutting, born 1805, in Roxbury; settled in Weston in 1822; bought the Jonathan P. Stearns grocery business in 1833; married 1830, Elizabeth Lord, of Medford (b. 1807; d. 1893); was postmaster from 1859 to 1885; for 52 years conducted the only grocery in Weston; held many offices within the gift of the people; was highly esteemed by the community for his great amiability and strict integrity; died 1885. Children:
Caroline Elizabeth Cutting, born 1831; married George Willis; died 1888.
Sarah Lord Cutting, born 1833; married Theodore Jones, death 1863. 

George Warren Cutting, born 1834; married Josephine M. Brown.
Harriet Fenno Cutting, born 1838; married William C. Stimpson, killed at Poplar Spring, Va., Sept. 30, 1864, 35 Reg. Mass. Vol.
Margaret Lord Cutting, born 1842; married Isaac E. Coburn; died 1907.
Emma Louisa Cutting, born 1844.
Ellen Marion Cutting, born 1846; died 1849.
Edward L. Cutting, born 1850; married Caroline Augusta Keniston.
George Warren Cutting, Jr., born 1834; married 1865, Josephine M. Brown; became associated with his father in business. In 1875 the firm bought the Lamson store, property that had been in the Lamson family for 150 years. In 1864 upon the death of Nathan Hagar (died Nov. 14, 1863), he was chosen town clerk, and has served continuously in office since. He was representative in 1889, and assessor for a number of years, a trustee of of the Merriam Fund; a highly esteemed citizen, and is now postmaster.
His children are:
Sarah Lillian Cutting, born 1866; married Arthur B. Nims.
Alfred Leslie Cutting, born 1868; married May C. Livermore.
Bessie Brown Cutting born 1874; died 1876.
George Warren Cutting (2d) born 1877.
Eleanor Mabel Cutting born 1880.
Edmund Eugene Cutting born 1882; died 1882.
Alfred Leslie Cutting, born 1868; opened a grocery store on North Ave., in 1888 and was appointed postmaster at Kendal Green when he was 21. He married 1890, May C Livermore, daughter of Charles H. Livermore and Almira Child, and became associated with his father and brother-in-law in business. He was elected a selectman in 1900 and continuously since; Representative in 1908 and re-elected for 1909. He is deservedly popular, trusted and esteemed. Corporal Henry L. Brown, Assessor, was born in 1840. David Weston Lane, Assessor, born in 1846, is Chairman of Park Commission. Henry J. White, Town Treasurer and Collector, born in 1828, has served the town as representative, assessor and selectman. His father Henry J. White came to Weston from Hallowell, Maine.
 
Cemetery-Woodlawn Cemetery Everett, Massachusetts, USA
George W Cutting and Elizabeth Lord Cutting Burial: Weston Central Cemetery

Monday, May 5, 2014

Phelps-Batcheller/Batchelder Line & Ancestors



Laura Ann Batcheller, b. Sept. 23. 1826, daughter of Silas Weatherbee Batchellor*; married on April 15, 1851, George Edwin Phelps SR (See above photo) b. July 30, 1826 in Dudley, MA son of Horatio Phelps and Sarah Davis daughter of Rufus Davis and Sally Dunbar. 
Home: Nashua, N. H., 258 Main St. George Phelps
Horatio married Sarah Davis May 22 1825 in Dudley, Mass.rem. to Worcester.
He was b. 12 July, 1798, at Sutton.
Sarah was b. 23 June, 1805, at Dudley ; d. 31 July, 1876, at Worcester.
Children:
George, b. 30 July, 1826, at East Dudley, now Webster.
Albert, b. 1 June, 1828; d. 14 Sept. 1829.
Sarah Davis, b. 7 Dec. 1829.
Emma, b. and d. 17 Aug. 1836.
Mary Russel, b. 8 April, 1840.
Deborah Moore, b. 2 Feb. 1842.
Helen Elizabeth, b. 16 June, 1844.
Here is a obituary on Horatio Phelps which gives information on Phelps Conn/Ma




Horatio Phelps was the son of Ebenezer Phelps, of Sutton; worked in young manhood in his father's saw and grist-mill, at New Boston, Conn., whither the family had removed; was , married while living there; removed in 1825 to Slater's Mill, now East Webster, Mass., where he learned the trade of a machinist. In 1827 he removed to South Worcester, Mass., where he was employed three years as journeyman and in 1830 began, in co-partnership with William M. Bickford, the manufacture of woolen looms, which they continued for sixteen years, when he sold out to Bickford. Later he was interested in hosiery manufacture with his brother at Millbury for a few years. He retired with a competency several years since, and is living on his estate in Worcester, enjoying a healthy old age in the pursuit of horticulture, in which he is specially interested.Horatio Phelps manufactured looms of all kinds in the shop formerly occupied by William Howard, at South Worcester, from whom Mr. Phelps had purchased the right to make his patent broad looms. The firm of Phelps & Bickford, composed of Horatio Phelps and William M. Bickford, continued to manufacture here, after the formation of their copartnership, all kinds of woolen looms. In October, 1834, they removed from South Worcester to Court Mills, then a new building erected by Stephen Salisbury for the accommodation of parties desiring to lease factory room. Phelps & Bickford afterwards occupied part of the wire factory in Grove Street. Later, Mr. Bickford continued the business alone, and in 1859 he employed twenty-three hands in building looms in the west wing of the Grove Street mill. December 28, 1860, he moved to Merrifield's building, in Exchange Street, where he was prepared to build all kinds of Crompton looms and other fancy looms, broad and narrow; also walking, dressing and spooling machinery, with steam cylinders or pipes for drying; also all kinds of machinery and tools for making wire.


 
George Phelps was a coal dealer/trader in Worcester, Mass., with F. W. Wellington, He worked as clerk and partner. Me removed in 1870 to Nashua, N. H Coal and related enterprises: the coming expansion and its investment implications; energy research service George E. Phelps Company; September 13 1877; A902157. More from History of Nashua NH




Children of George Phelps and Laura Ann Batcheller:
George Edwin Phelps, b. May 9, 1852; d. Nov. 1881 at Boston Highlands (Single)
Arthur Wellington Phelps, b. 12, 1858; m. Dec. 1890; post office Nashua, N. H.
Laura Gertrude Phelps, b. March I, 1865; unm.; post office Nashua, N. H.(Single)

[Messrs. T. W. Wellington; Mr. George Phelps; Prosperity]
Date: Saturday, July 22, 1865 Paper: National Aegis (Worcester, MA) Page: 2


Another item in the Archives was the Will of Gideon Hardy (Have to explore this more)

PETITION, for a construction of the will of Gideon Hardy, which was proved June 24, 1884. Transferred without ruling from the May term, 1910, of the superior court by Plummer, J . The defendants were duly served, but did not appear in the superior court. After a gift of all the residue of the estate to the testator’s wife, to be expended by her for her comfort and necessities as she might choose, the will contained the following: “ At my said wife’s decease, if any property is left after paying the funeral expenses and liabilities, I desire the same to be divided into four parts, one fourth to the First Congregational Church of Nashua, one fourth to the feeble Congregational churches of New Hampshire, one fourth to George Phelps, and one fourth to Barney Phelps.”

The testator’s wife survived him, dying in 1910. The property remaining consists of three dwelling-houses in a continuous row on Chestnut street in Nashua, with appurtenant land. George and Barney Phelps both died before the testator’s wife, and their sole heir is the defendant Lawrence. The advice of the court is asked as to the duty of the administrator to cause a division of the property by proceeding for sale or partition, and as to the construction and proper execution of the gift to the feeble Congregational churches of New Hampshire.
Death Records of Laura Ann Phelps


Another famous Dr. Azor R Phelps in the area---Dr. Azor R. Phelps about 1835, to 1843, when he died. He was proprietor of Phelps' Arcanum, once a famous panacea.

 
Dr Phelps (son of Azor Phelps SR and ) m. Ann Janette, D. of Jason Ware, in 1833, and d. Oct. 14, 1843, aged 45. Children: Virginia Isabella, b. May 15, 1835; Sarah Janette, July 8, 1836 ; Robert Archer, Feb. 19, 1838; Harriet Jemima, Dec. 4, 1841 ; Martha Maria, July 13, 1843. The four last named d. in infancy.
 "Arthur W. Phelps coal office 232 Main St. Nashua"



Arthur Wellington Phelps



  
  
 Death Certificate of Arthur Phelps


Arthur Wellington Phelps married Dec. 1890 Emma Gertrude Osborne From Berrien County Marriages 1890-1899

Emma Gertrude Osborne born
Children: Marion B Phelps George Osborne Phelps (March 8 1896-1962)



George Phelps with sister Marion

Draft Card George O Phelps



Burial: Keystone Heights Cemetery
Keystone Heights Clay County
Florida, USA Created by: Alton & Loudonia

Batcheller Line:From the book: "Batchelder, Batcheller Genealogy: Descendants of Rev. Stephen Bachiler, of England, a Leading Non-conformist, who Settled the Town of New Hampton, N.H., and Joseph, Henry, Joshua, and John Batcheller of Essex Co., Massachusetts" by Frederick Clifton Pierce

*Silas W Batcheller  (Isaac, Nehemiah, Nehemiah, David, John, Joseph), b. Boxboro, Mass., March 15, 1791; m. June 27, 1814, Rhoda Goddard, b. June 17, 1795; d. Aug. 13, 1887. He was a farmer. He d. April 19, 1880. Res. Bethlehem and South Royalston, N. H.

ISAAC BATCHELLOR (Nehemiah, Nehemiah, David, John, Joseph), b. Acton, Mass., Oct. 22, 1766; m. there April 10, 1788, Mary Wetherbee, b. Nov. 7, 1770; dau. of Silas. After Isaac's death she m. 2d, John Holman. She d. June 6, 1858, in So. Royalston, Mass. Isaac was one of the first settlers of Bethlehem, going there from Mass.. at the end of the last century. He was prominent in town affairs, was often moderator, selectman and collector. He d. in Bethlehem, N. H., June 6, 1803, being accidentally killed by a fall from a tree. Res. Bethlehem, N. H.

Saturday, March 22, 2014

Ordway Family and Colby, Osgood, Gove, Morrill, Jameson, & Other New England Old Names



From The Granite Monthly: A New Hampshire Magazine Devoted to History, Biography, Literature, and State Progress, Volume 15

The name of Ordway is of some note in the annals of Warner. Any one who has glanced over the early records of the proprietors of the town will there see on almost every page the name of Dr. Nehemiah Ordway. He was a resident of Amesbury, a graduate of Harvard college, and a physician of wide reputation in his day. The Ordway family originated from James Ordway, who was born in Wales in 1620, and, marrying Ann Emery, emigrated to America about 1648, and settled at Newbury. Dr. Nehemiah Ordway was the great-grandson of this James and the son of Deacon John Ordway. Photo A J Sawyer


He was born in 1713, and died January 13, 1779, aged 66 years. Dr. Ordway was one of the original grantees of Warner, and was clerk of the proprietors a great many years. He was greatly interested in the settlement of the town and owned a valuable lot at the lower village, embracing the whole hillside by the Runels house, which was afterwards the property of Joseph Bartlett. He visited Warner in 1768 and again in 1773, the last time staying several months, but he never settled here. That work he left for another's hand to do. Photo Weat Newbury Ordway Reservation


Dr. Nehemiah Ordway was the father of at least two sons, Rev. Nehemiah and Bradshaw Ordway. Rev. Nehemiah, who was born in Amesbury in 1743, and graduated at Harvard in 1764, preached successively at Warner in 1767, '68, '69, '70 and '71, but not regularly. Among the proprietors' bills for 1769 was one for five pounds and twelve shillings ($18.65) to "Nehemiah Ordway, Jr., for preaching," and in 1771, "one pound and ten shillings to Nehemiah Ordway, Jr., for preaching." He was subsequently settled over the church at Middleton, N. H., and later at East Haverhill, Mass. He died at Pembroke, in 1836, aged 93

  

Bradshaw Ordway was younger than his brother, the exact date of his birth being not far from 1750. He came to Warner as early as 1782, and built a log cabin on his father's lot a short distance up the hillside across the highway from George Colby's residence. His wife was Eleanor Stevens, a cousin to the wife of General Aquila Davis. In 1784 Bradshaw Ordway exchanged his lot with Joseph Bartlett for two adjoining lots in the north village. The same year he sold one of the lots to Isaac Dalton, and, in 1785, Bradshaw Ordway and his family moved up to the hill. Nehemiah, the oldest of his children, was then a babe in his mother's arms.

There was a habitation already there. The Bartlett gore, as it was called, embraced some one hundred and forty acres. All were sixty-acre lots on the west of this gore. The two lots that constituted the gore were very irregular. On the north the width was eighty-seven rods; at the south end it tapered to only a few rods in width. In length it was more than a mile. The original Dalton farm, which was cut off at the south end, embraced sixty acres. The remaining portion constituted the farm that Bradshaw Ordway took possession of one hundred and eight years ago. Near the center of the estate stood a log cabin which had been built by Joseph Bartlett a year or two previously.

 

This became the home of the pioneers for a number of years, certainly until after 1793, for Samuel and Thomas, who were twins and were born that year, first saw the light in this structure. The next year, perhaps, or a year later, a frame building of larger dimensions was erected by the pioneer. This latter structure stood but two or three rods from the former habitation and about thirty rods northwest of the present buildings. To reach the site of these ancient dwellings one should follow the path out past the apple trees about twenty rods, then go straight north about ten more. On a little rise of ground in the center of the field is the site of the former house where Bradshaw Ordway spent the latter years of his life. Not a vestige of that early habitation remains to-day. A few rods beyond this, straight north, is another green knoll, where rests a large granite rock. Just west of this rock stood the log cabin erected by Joseph Bartlett, and the first home of Bradshaw Ordway on the place. A huge elm overshadowed it during the time it was a habitation. In my childhood's days a portion of this stump was visible and also broken pieces of brick, the remnants of the pioneer's chimney, but there is nothing there now to show that it was ever the site of a dwelling-place.


This part of the north village came very near being an Ordway settlement. Just across the path from the site of the original home, on a still higher knoll, is the foundation of the house which Thomas Ordway built for himself a little after the close of the second war with Great Britain. The frame of the house was about thirty by eighteen feet, one story in height, and was never painted. A well near by has water of remarkable purity, and the old sweep stood there when I was a boy.

Thomas Ordway married Polly Ferrin, a daughter of Benjamin Ferrin, who lived at the present Newton Gove place. Their two children, Alvah and Susan, were born in this old house. After living here a number of years Thomas Ordway sold his little patrimony of thirty-four acres to Benjamin F. Flanders. The price paid was one hundred and ten dollars, whose purchasing power, in 1826, was twice that of the same sum to-day. Mr. Ordway moved to Bristol, and died there about 1870. His two children have descendants still living at Evansville, Wis. Below is Ferrin Family line in NH

The next owner of the Thomas Ordway house was James Batchelder, who married a daughter of Jacob Morrill in the east part of the town. Batchelder was an Osgoodite, and remained here only four or five years. The house then become the home of another child of Bradshaw Ordway, Deborah, who had married a Dudley Webster of Bristol. This Webster was a tailor by trade, and justified the truth of the old adage that it takes nine tailors to make a man. He deserted his wife, and she and her three children came here to live. After these children were old enough to care for themselves, Mrs. Webster gave up her home and lived with her brother Nehemiah, and the land reverted to the original homestead. The old house was taken down in 1842. One half of the frame was sold to Captain Timothy Flanders, who set it up for a carriage-house at the Dalton place; the other portion was used by Levi Flanders, senior, for the same purpose at the Walter M. Flanders place.


Meanwhile David Ordway had gone out farther to the south and built him a home. It was a low, one-story building, thirty by eighteen feet, the long side facing the south, and was unpainted. The house was built in the summer of 1812. In 1817 he exchanged with his brother, Nehemiah, who had put up a dwelling-house in what is now known as the Stevens lot, a component part of the Ordway homestead.


This is the house that those of my generation remember as the " Uncle Miah Ordway house." Nehemiah Ordway made it his home the remainder of his life. To this house he brought, in 1818, his young bride, Mary, daughter of Isaiah Flanders. Here were born his three sons, John, Joseph, and ex-Governor Nehemiah G. Ordway. An addition of about sixteen feet was made to the east end, a little later, which gave the house a remarkable frontage for so low and narrow a structure. This addition was known as "Aunt Lucy's parlor." It was the living-room of Bradshaw Ordway's eldest daughter, Lucy, who spent her life in the home of her brother.

In this house Bradshaw Ordway died in 1820, aged some over seventy years. The latter years of his life were clouded by spells of partial insanity, and the cares of a large family fell upon his oldest son, Nehemiah, at an early age. The remains were interred in the cemetery back of Union block, where Mrs. Ordway was already buried. Nehemiah Ordway's wife, Mary, died in 1850, and was buried beside her kindred. Mr. Ordway subsequently married Hannah, one of the seven daughters of Levi Osgood and widow of Levi Colby, who lived on the Edmunds place in Joppa. He was drowned in Warner river, in July, 1862. His brother Samuel, who never married, continued to reside in the old house until 1867, when he went to live with "Brother" Charles Colby on Burnt hill, where he died in 1874. The next year after he left the house was taken down, and the frame was sold to Rufus A. Davis, who used a portion of it in making the ell of his dwelling-house. John Ordway's woodsheds stand over the old cellar. Mr. Ordway's present residence was erected in 1853. The barn was built by Nehemiah Ordway in 1820.


Just south of the maples in the little hollow there formerly stood the "village smithy." Samuel Ordway was blacksmith as well as farmer, and did considerable work at his forge up to 1860. This shop was a portion of the old frame house, the first built on the place. It was taken down several years ago.
MINISTER'S RECORD BOOK Adopted by Anne Reilly in honor of Rev. Michael O. Shirley
Ordway, Nehemiah. Record Book, 1777-1829.


Nehemiah Ordway (1743-1836) was born in Amesbury, Massachusetts and became a congregational minister after his graduation from Harvard College in 1764. This small volume is a record of Ordway's ministerial activities from 1777 to 1829. It adds considerably to what is known of Ordway's career and activities. He was peripatetic, settling in Middleton in 1777, but later also serving in Candia, East Haverhill, Raymond, Kingston and Pembroke. In a note in the front of the volume Ordway says, seemingly with pride, that he had preached in fifty towns. The record book includes genealogical notes, and records of his settlement at Middleton and records of as well as admissions, births and marriages in the other churches with which he was associated. ~ Thomas Knoles

See Newbury Moses Ordway
Mariah Ordway
Aaron Ordway Check out At the River Bend Blog





Was born at Hebron, N. H., May 4, 1814. Came to Lawrence Mar., 1847, establishing himself in business as an apothecary and in practice as a physician. This business and profession he followed for about twenty-four years. . Eight years since he retired from practice, but Is active as president and a principal owner and director in Brown's Lumber Co. of Whitefield, N. H. He is also president of the newly organized Whitefield & Jefferson R. R. Co. His father was a hardy pioneer settler of Hebron, N. H., living to the ripe age of 93. His uncle, John Ordway, was clerk and historian of the Lewis and Clark U. S. Exploring Expedition. In early life Dr. Ordway had only the advantages of a common school education, and for several years before coming to Lawrence was engaged in mercantile business, and for three years in the practice of medicine. Alderman in 1857 and 1858.  From History of Lawrence

History of Essex County, Massachusetts: With Biographical Sketches of Many of Its Pioneers and Prominent Men, Volume 1

Among men who, during a long residence in Lawrence, have exhibited strongly marked individuality and intense activity in business and in general affairs, Dr. Aaron Ordway is a prominent veteran. A powerful ally in any cause he espoused, he has been, also, a wily and determined enemy to schemes and plans that he found well-grounded reason to oppose.

He came to the city in 1847, having previously been a trader in general merchandise at Springfield, Mass., and a practicing physician in Rumney, N. II. For twenty years, after coming, he was one of the busiest physicians of the city, and, for a long time, added to professional duties a thriving retail drug business. Faithful care of these interests called for uninterrupted action, and the doctor's temperament and physique fitted him to throw a vast amount of energy into the conduct of his private business, and yet continue active in matters of public concern, as a private citizen and as an alderman during two terms of service. So active was his life that his fellow-citizens wondered when he slept and rested, for he was the last man seen on the street or at business at night and the first abroad in the morning. Later in life he became financially interested in timber-lands and in the manufacture of lumber, and was at one time president of Brown's Lumber Company, of Whitefield, in Northern New Hampshire, and also of the Whitefield and Jefferson Railroad, in the same locality.

In religious matters Dr. Ordway has never been committed to any form of doctrine or wording of creeds, because of others' declaration, having well-grounded faith and opinion of his own, but he has liberally assisted many a struggling church and society in time of financial strait. He has also been a persistent and unswerving friend of the City Hospital.

In politics Dr. Ordway has been a party man of the intensest kind when he believed his party right, holding that right cannot be too boldly asserted or vigorously advocated; nevertheless, he could see a party desert its principles without joining in the stampede. He was a pioneer among early Abolitionists and an active sympathizer with the boldest reformers, whether in the anti-slavery or woman's suffrage cause. Long-continued intensity of action has undermined and broken a strong constitution and hardy physique, and, at the the age of seventy-four, he is an invalid, yet his courage is unabated and his mind unclouded.

In his active days his favor was much courted and his opposition feared by aspirants for political honors. Never on the fence or slow to declare himself, he was, in politics, as in all else, a determined opponent and a fast friend. It was said by some, that, when he appeared in a political contest as a cavalryman with a sorrel charger there was terror in the host he opposed.


He was born in Hebron, N. H., May 4, 1814. His father, Stephen Ordway, went from Amesbury, Mass., in childhood, to Dunbarton, N. H. From thence, at nineteen years, he removed to the northern plantation of "Cockamouth" (afterwards called Hebron), there founding a home, where he lived to the age of ninety-three years. John Ordway, brother of Stephen and uncle of the subject of this sketch, was the clerk and historian of the Lewis and Clark Exploring Expedition, an enterprise that opened up hitherto unknown regions of the West in the early years of the century and made the participants therein famous in American History.
Dr. Ordway married, for his first wife, Mary M. Kelley, of New Hampton, N. H., and four children survive her; for his second wife, he married Mary Ann Kelley, of Franklin, N. H., and with her he is enjoying as much of rest and quiet as broken health allows.
Alfred T. Ordway (1821–1897) landscape and portrait painter, and one of the founding fathers of the Boston Art Club Grandson of Nehemiah Ordway


                                                        Some of A A Ordway's work
THE BIRTHPLACE, FROM THE ROAD
Showing eastern porch, gate, bridle-post, and large boulder used as horse-block


BIRTHPLACE IN WINTER
From hemlocks above brook
Copyright, 1891, by A. A. Ordway.


See more info on A A Ordway White Mountain Art & Artists

John Pond Ordway (1824-1880) below An other American musician in the nineteenth century is John Pond Ordway. He is most well know for composing the song Twinkling Stars Are Laughing, Love. He was born in Salem, Massachusetts on August 1,1824 and died in April 1880 in Boston, Massachusetts son of Aaron Ordway and Catherine Pond. Not only was he a composer, but he was also a doctor, a music entrepreneur, and a politician. He graduated from Harvard Medical School in 1859 and he was ont of the first ever surgeons to volunteer at the beginning of the Civil War.

   

Ordway severed in the sixth Regiment, which was called the Massachusetts Volunteer Infantry. John Pond Ordway was one of the few union surgeons sent to help heal the wounded after the Battle of Gettysburg. He also owned his own music shop in Boston. His most well known song Twinkling Stars Are Laughing, Love was recorded by the Hayden Quartet between 1902 and 1904. Around 1845 he organized Ordway’s Aeolians, a blackface minstrel troup which performed at Ordway Hall in Boston moreover nationally to promote Ordway's publishing business. Future bandleader and composer, Patrick Gimore, worked in Ordway's store and appeared with the Aeolians. James Lord Pierpont’s first major composition "The Returned Californian" in 1852 was written expressly for Ordway and his troupe. A number of nineteenth century songs were written for the Aeolians and/or dedicated to Ordway, including Jingle Bells.


Nehemiah George Ordway (November 10, 1828 – July 3, 1907)
Lucius Pond Ordway Sr., c. 1900. One of St Paul's distinguished citizens, Mr. Ordway made his first fortune in plumbing and heating supplies, first as Rogers and Ordway, then Crane & Ordway. In the early 1900s when a small local company called Minnesota Mining and Manufacturing needed financial backing, Ordway is said to have paid $14,000 for what would become known as 3M, one of the nation's formidable industrial juggernauts. 3M's invention of masking tape and Scotch tape proved a significant financial windfall.
See Lou Ordway
Ellen and Lou Ordway
John "Smokey" Ordway Jr  
Grave Photo Amy Levesque

Popular Post