Showing posts with label Newbury history. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Newbury history. Show all posts

Tuesday, October 13, 2015

Old South Chapter Daughters of the Revolution Laura Wentworth Fowler at Wolfe Tavern to explore Auld Newbury 1900



Old South Chapter (Boston, Massachusetts).—The Daughters of the American Revolution seek historic facts not only in the dusty tomes of the library, but by pilgrimages to places where Revolutionary history was made. This chapter, Mrs. Laura Wentworth Fowler, regent, enjoyed three "outings" this year. Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine, Volume 17 1900. The affections of the members of the Old South Chapter cling to the name "Old South;" so it was fitting that they should accept.an invitation from the Old South Historical Society through its energetic president, Mr. Joseph Parker Warren, to join it in its annual historic pilgrimage, which this year was to Newburyport and "Auld Newbury." Newburyport has its memories of Louisburg and the Plains of Abraham. See Captain William Davenport & His Company 1759 Newbury MA
A bomb-shell from Louisburg adorns a street corner, while the "Wolfe Tavern" was the rendezvous of rebellious spirits in the days of the stamp act. A bell, cast by Paul Revere, rang out a merry welcome from the Old South Church, where, in 1775, was formed the first volunteer company organized for service in the continental army. Under the pulpit lie the remains of the Rev. George Whitefield, and a cenotaph in the church bears witness to his many virtues and great eloquence.

The town sent out many privateers during the Revolutionary war. William Davenport's son Anthony Davenport was among them and furnished supplies for the troops at Lexington and Bunker Hill. A little find on the Davenport family from the Boston Post old newspaper.


Also the infamous  Nathaniel Tracy fitted out a great fleet, consisting of 24 cruisers, with 340 guns and 2,800 men. He also contributed $160,000 to the cause of liberty. His fine old mansion is now the public library and museum. The old Dalton house, now the home of the Dalton club, retains its fire-places with their exquisite carvings and Corinthian pillars reaching to the ceiling. In a frame upon the wall is a sample of wall paper similar to that seen in the Quincy house. 
On the label it is stated that it had "been used to adorn the room in which Mary Dalton was married to Leonard White."
By trolley the party, numbering six hundred, were taken through High street, where dwelt Caleb Cushing, Lord Timothy Dexter and other notables, to "Auld Newbury," six miles away, where the inner man, who cannot thrive upon tradition, was refreshed. On return to Newburyport, the birthplace of William Lloyd Garrison, the office of Theophilus Parsons (where Robert Treat Paine and John Quincy Adams were apprentices), and the First Religious Society, a church of pure colonial build, were visited, and then a steamer conveyed the party fifteen miles up the river to Haverhill. From that point, the return to Boston was quickly made by special train.
The three field-days of the Old South Chapter for 1900 will ever be remembered as days of unalloyed pleasure.


The Chapter is entertained by the Daughters in turn, and this season many have received at the "Wolfe Tavern," a hostelry of some historic note, although modern in its present appointments.

     Wolfe Tavern: It dates from 1762, and its first owner and proprietor, Captain William Davenport, raised a company of Newbury men at the time of the French and English War and were present with them when General Wolfe was killed on the Plains of Abraham. After Captain Davenport returned to Newbury he opened a tavern and with a natural enthusiasm for his General he named it the "Wolfe Tavern," and from the cross beam of a lofty pole he suspended a sign bearing the head and bust of General Wolfe surrounded by an elaborately carved and gilded wreath, all the work of his own hands. During the Revolution this sign barely escaped destruction assome thought it "an insult to the inhabitants of this truly republican town." 

Sign is now at the Museum of Old Newbury (formerly the Ould Newbury Historical Society) in Newburyport, Massachusetts Wolfe Tavern History Page

Subsequently the original sign was destroyed by the great fire of 1811, and in front of the present tavern a new sign bearing the portrait of General Wolfe, painted by Moses Cole, a French refugee, was suspended where it now swings. 
By reason of her absence from Newburyport during the winter season, the very capable and gracious Regent, Miss Edith Russell Wills, who has been Regent of the Chapter since its inception, resigned and the Vice-Regent, Mrs. Lawrence Brown, was unanimously elected to succeed her. As Mrs. Brown ably fills the office every indication promises a successful future for the Chapter. From Daughters of the American Revolution Magazine, Volume 15
 



78 High Street Newburyport  Land bought in 1807 by Anthony Davenport and the house built soon afterward, passing in 1838 to his daughter, Mrs. Samuel T. DeFord (Catherine Greenleaf Davenport m1st Damuel DeFord, 2nd Augustus Pearson). It remained in this family until 1871 when bought by John A. Greeley, John Balch Greely and Frances Dunn Cobb and brother to Adolphus. Anthony Davenport, Sr was a famous privateer See Naval records of the American Revolution: 1775-1788*


Photo and information from Family Findings
No woman is better known in Boston’s musical and club circles than Laura Wentworth Fowler, daughter of Amasa Wentworth and Susan (Nowell) Wentworth, born in Somersworth, New Hampshire June 11, 1837. She is a descendant of Elder William Wentworth, from whom Lieutenant-Governor John Wentworth, and Governors Benning and John, Wentworth also descended. Four of her ancestors fought at Bunker Hill, which admits her to the Daughters of the American Revolution.


She early displayed rare musical ability, and at the age of eleven began to play the organ in church. Graduating from Abbot Academy, Andover, Mass., in 1860, where she taught music during her course, she took charge of the musical department of Lagrange Female College, Tennessee, but returned North in a year on account of the war, and became teacher of mathematics, languages, and music in the Concord (N.H.) High School.
During her second year here, she was called to the musical department of Monticello seminary, Illinois, remaining four years. Returning East she took charge of the departments of music and painting in Elmira College, New York, which she directed successfully until her marriage, six years later, with William Fowler, a gallant officer of the Union army during the war, who died November 26, 1874. Subsequently she taught eight years in Kentucky. Mrs. Fowler has superior literary as well as musical abilities, and is a prominent member of the N.E.W.P.A. She is a life member of the Bostonian Society, being the first woman admitted; a member of the New Hampshire’s Daughters, director of the Massachusetts Federation of Woman’s Clubs, and vice-president of the General Federation of Clubs of America. She is also connected with a score of other clubs and organizations, among which her favorite is the Abbot Academy Club, of which she is president and founder. Mrs. Fowler is endowed with a charming personality, and her chief characteristics are tact, will, energy, and enthusiasm.






Article published in the October 2, 1953 Newburyport Daily News.
 

Thursday, July 18, 2013

The British are coming! Or not

My article in Newburyport News



The celebration of our independence is fast approaching, and while we all know the story of the infamous dispatcher Paul Revere and his midnight ride to warn Adams and Hancock that the Brits were coming, many are unaware that Newburyport had a Revere as well. Ebenezer Todd made tracks through the dusty trails and back roads of Newbury to “warn and save” just like Revere, only in his case, it was a false alarm. This wicked tall Tory tale from the archives lasted only a night, but managed to ignite a sizzling terror in the Port and, for you present natives, a cool chronicle tidbit for a hot season.

John Greenleaf Whiitier

John Greenleaf Whittier called the event the “Great Ipswich Fright” because the whole debacle originated when a rumor starting circulating that British “regulars” had landed on Ipswich shores to execute a large-scale invasion to free prisoners jailed there. This mishap created quite a commotion, and like “most news, it spread like wild fire, being generally credited, and the consternation became almost universal” (Coffin, History of Newbury).
           
On Friday April 21, 1775, Todd, by order of “officials” from Rowley, broke up a community meeting hosted by Parson Carey, who was just about to give his opening prayer to comfort his flock and bring news of the fighting at Lexington. Todd approached the meetinghouse with “hurried hoof-beats” and stormed through the doors with “loosed haired and painting for breath,” shouting:
"For God's sake, turn out! turn out! or you will all be killed!
The regulars are marching this way, and will soon be here.
They are now at Ipswich cutting and slashing all before them…
By this time, they are at Old Town Bridge."

According to Currier (History of Newburyport), “all sorts of ludicrous things were done by men and women to escape impending destruction.” Crazed and frightened town folk scurried like mice from a hungry wild cat. Vehicles and carriages flooded the streets, and many headed for safer terrain on foot as well. Additional Revere wannabes added to the panic, screaming, "Flee for your lives! Flee for your lives! The regulars are coming!"


One man hid private documents under a large stone in his field and battened down the hatches with musket in hand, “resolved to sell his life as dearly as possible” (Coffin). Another woman threw all her precious silver in the well, but her fresh, hot pies were another matter – no rebel would get a taste of her tarts. There is also a report of one confused woman who ran five miles before making a pit stop on the steps of Reverend Noble's meetinghouse to nurse her infant, only to discover she grabbed the cat instead.
In many cases, the able-bodied left those who were bed ridden or elderly to fend for themselves. One feisty fellow, “whose excessive corpulence rendered retreat on his part impossible, seated himself in his doorway with his loaded king's arm” and mustered his neighbors to "stop and shoot the devils" (Coffin).


Several headed for safety by boat to Salisbury. One man, while escaping to Ring’s Island, almost sacrificed his little tyke when anxiety reached a critical point, shouting to his wife, "Do throw that squalling brat overboard, or we shall be all discovered and killed!"
             
As the tale grew more gruesome, the great panic eventually spread as far as Haverhill and into New Hampshire. “Almost simultaneously, the people of Beverly were smitten with the same terror. It was then believed that the enemy had fallen upon Ipswich and massacred the inhabitants, without regard to age or sex” (Salem Gazette). At one point, the destruction of the Parker and Thorla bridges was proposed, but thankfully, a handful of concerned citizens decided that it would be wise to validate the claim before repeating it. They soon discovered it had no credence.
Benjamin Greenleaf

Finally, Eliphalet Hale of Exeter rode from Ipswich to Newbury in fifty minutes. He let all who came in his tracks know that it was a hoax. The following day, Benjamin Greenleaf addressed the false accounts in a letter to the Committee of Safety in Boston, asking them to call off the troops. Even so, the fear of invasion by sea was real, and for the next few months, all who endured this great fright took extra precautions.
           
John Jenks of Salem reported in his journal that despite the false alarm, he “moved [his] goods up to Uncle Preston’s in Danvers and a great number of teams were employed to carry provisions out of town.” Ipswich ordered “a guard of two men [to be] stationed by the Town on the Hill in May 1775. A flagstaff was erected, and a beacon, and in case of the appearance of the enemy, a flag was to be displayed by day and a fire, built of tar and other inflammable material to be kindled by night” (Ipswich Chronicle).
           
Although the phrase “don’t shoot the messenger” was the law of the land, many felt that this bearer of bad tidings should be the exception, but since Ebenezer Todd acted as any good Patriot would have, he was pardoned. Whittier commended the citizens of Newburyport for their courage despite the sham, noting that “they might bow and sway like reeds in the wind; but they stood up like the oaks of their own forests beneath the thunder and the hail of actual calamity.”

Good People of the Port - Have a Happy 4th of July!

Popular Post